Clearing Up confusion about “Ice”

I was so excited about publishing my first novella, Ice, as it had been three years in the making. I had decided in the beginning that the use of multiple first-person narrators would be appropriate for this particular story. The story recounts simultaneous action from the point of view of three different characters. When I published Ice, I couldn’t wait for reader feedback. I expected both good and bad reviews (Hey, you can’t please everyone…)The feedback I have received about Ice, while generally positive, has been that my use of the multiple narrators is causing confusion. To my readers: I would like to express my deepest appreciation for your support and feedback, and I apologize that my narration was confusing.

To clear things up:

Part 1 (chapters 1-4) is narrated by Elliot Atkinson. Of the three narrators, he is the most objective.

Part 2 (Chapters 6-9) is narrated by Andy Thompson, chief of police. A lot of this part focuses on Andy’s thoughts and feelings as he tries to deal with a crisis situation while terrified that his daughter may die.

Part 3 (chapters 10-16) is narrated by Carolyn Holcomb, one of the victims of the crime. She recounts in gruesome details the horrors that the victims experienced and (towards the end) some of the lessons she learned from the terrible experience.

Part 4 (Chapters 17-20)- narrated again by Andy as he and others are trying to figure a way out of the crisis without causing further harm to the victims. Basically, Part 3 is the “inside” version and Part 4 is the “outside” version. It is simultaneous action told from two very different perspectives.

Part 5-(remainder of the book)-told by Elliot as he recounts the aftermath of the terror and how Minterville coped, and eventually began the healing process.

I hope this clears up any confusion, and that you will read and enjoy “Ice”

http://www.amazon.com/Ice-Jessica-Wren-ebook/dp/B00O1CCAU6/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1414617782&sr=1-1&keywords=ice

In the UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ice-Jessica-Wren-ebook/dp/B00O1CCAU6/ref=sr_1_4?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1414617897&sr=1-4&keywords=ice

Leave a Reply

