Minterville-an American Macondo

Minterville, Georgia is the idyllic setting for my novella, Ice. There is a crime rate of virtually zero, and the residents live in peace and tranquility (that is, until they are taken over by narco-terrorists).

Minterville is a fictitious town. In fact, I looked on online, and there is no town called Minterville in Georgia or any other state in the U.S. It most closely resembles Portal, Georgia in size, location, and population density. However, I modeled Minterville after Argyle, Texas, where I lived for a good bit of my childhood.

The main inspiration for Minterville comes from a housesitting adventure I had in 2009. It was July and the heat was excruciating. I was housesitting for a professor and his wife (in return for a place to stay while I was taking a summer class at Georgia Southern University). The house was located at the end of a mile-long driveway in the woods, which in turn was located at the end of a mile-long road. One of my tasks was to walk the dogs down this road. Standing at the end of the driveway one day, exhausted and delirious from the heat, I thought, “I bet if I didn’t know what was at the end of this driveway, I would go through it and find a magical village inhabited by elves.” (only partially joking here). That same summer, I read Gabriel Garcia Marquez’ masterpiece One Hundred Years of Solitude. That is when my plan for Minterville solidified. The fictitious town of Macondo, Colombia is home to a colorful cast of characters and strange happening, and they, too, are terrorized by foreign invaders. This the idea for Minterville, my American Macondo, was born.

To read Ice: http://www.amazon.com/Ice-Jessica-Wren-ebook/dp/B00O1CCAU6/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1415558485&sr=1-2&keywords=ice

To read One Hundred Years of Solitude: http://books.google.com/books?id=pgPWOaOctq8C&printsec=frontcover&dq=one+hundred+years+of+solitude&hl=en&sa=X&ei=kcBfVO6ULcmYNo_9gYgE&ved=0CCYQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=one%20hundred%20years%20of%20solitude&f=false

Leave a Reply

