Thoughts on Beta Reading

peachysinsights

I’m new to this, though without realizing, I had been beta reading for my daughter since before she sent her first book to an editor. I Googled information on what is expected of a beta reader when I began to volunteer to beta read a few books. Even so I still do not fully know what I’ve gotten myself into. How much is expected of me as a beta reader? I know I’m looking for typos and grammar and inconsistencies in tense or the plot, but what else should I be looking for, if anything? Beta reading is not the same as reading for review, that is certain. There is a steep learning curve here and I’m determined to get to the top of that bell.   There will be changes in how I write my responses as I climb that learning curve. I do want to be a valuable asset…

View original post 682 more words

Leave a Reply

